09 January 2020

New organisational chart for the Central Bank of Iceland

Central Bank of Iceland

A new organisational chart for the Central Bank of Iceland took effect yesterday, 8 January 2020, on the basis of the new Act on the Central Bank of Iceland, no. 92/2019. As is provided for in the Act, the Central Bank and the Financial Supervisory Authority merged at the beginning of 2020. According to the new organisational chart, the Bank has seven core departments: Economics and Monetary Policy; Markets; Financial Stability; Banking; Pensions and Insurance; Markets and Business Conduct; and Compliance and Inspections. There are four support departments: Operations, Information Technology and Statistics, Finance, and Human Resources. The organisational chart also includes the centralised General Secretariat for the merged institution. Under the new organisational structure, some departments have been abolished or merged, some employees have been transferred between departments, and eight positions have been eliminated.

Further information can be found here.